Travelling to the Scottish Highlands

– by Jenna Schwartz

Over the weekend, Saturday to Sunday, I traveled to the Scottish Highlands. I was fortunate that my home university organized a trip for us UK abroad students to go on but there are many companies available to book to make your traveling easier and more informed! We went on a trip with Wee Red Bus Tours. If you are able, I would recommend booking a tour to travel to the highlands. There are many places to see with lots of history and driving is necessary.

Doune Castle
One of the Three Sister Mountains in Glencoe
Loch Shiel

We began our tour at Doune Castle, seen in the first season of Game of Thrones and in Outlander! The castle might not be open to the public anymore, but you would have to check before going. We then drove to Glen Coe, stopping at the Three Sisters of Glencoe mountains, which were beautiful. We saw the Viaduct which was so fun for me to see as a big Harry Potter fan. This was the bridge pictured in the movies that carried the Hogwarts express. Next to the viaduct was Loch Shiel, the location for the Triwizard Tournament’s Blake Lake in Goblet of Fire.

Loch Ness

Then we drove to Loch Ness and learning about the origins of the Nessie legend was quite silly! Finally, we arrived in the highland capital of Inverness where we would be staying overnight. My group stayed in Black Isle Hostel but there were many other places to stay nearby. I walked along the river and bridges there and ate dinner. There were many restaurants, shops, and pubs!

The Hermitage
The Hermitage Waterfall

The second day of our guided tour included a visit to prehistorical standing stones. Throughout both days we saw many animals including Highland cows, sheep, horses, and lambs. We ended our highland tour at the Hermitage, taking a nice riverside walk, and seeing a waterfall and other natural sights.

I had a great time, but if I were to return, I would love to travel to the Isle of Sky. If you have time, I recommend traveling there too!