The Isle of Skye, Alnwick Castle and Loch Ness.

So, it’s more than 2 months into my year in Scotland and I’ve come to an incredible realisation.

edinburgh-1157124_640

Scotland is pretty, guys.

Like, seriously. You can’t go anywhere without being bombarded by prettiness; a lecture theatre, the shops, it doesn’t matter. Your journey will take at least ten extra minutes because you’ll be too busy wandering around, open-mouthed, like you’ve just fallen through the back of a wardrobe and ended up in Narnia.

Here’s a picture I took from a building on campus a few days ago.

edi

I was supposed to be studying, but no, Edinburgh just had to jump in and distract me by being the most attractive city anyone has been lucky enough to live in ever.

( I fear my subpar photography skills may have failed to capture the majesty of the moment – I may have had to crop out my thumb- but you get the point)

It is for that reason that, when given the chance to irresponsibly cast my essays, laundry and blog-writing (eek!) aside and see more of this beautiful country, I simply could not refuse. Over the last couple of months, I’ve had the opportunity to stay overnight in the Isle of Skye…

img_20161008_182953

….visit Alnwick Castle (aka. Hogwarts- yes, I’m serious! Your jealousy is well-founded)

14711615_10209340169932820_7976178621723902404_o

… and see Loch Ness (yes, the monster is real; yes, I have evidence; no, I’m not sharing).

scottish-castle-967972_1280

My advice to anyone on a year abroad is to travel as much as possible. Sure, it might mean some late nights staying up to write that essay you really should have got done on the weekend, or having 18 pence noodles for dinner a few nights in a row because your bank balance seems to have some kind of personal vendetta against you… but it’s worth it.

Not only it travelling a great way to meet people, bond with friends and make experiences, it also makes for some pretty good material when you’re writing a blog post and you’re totally stuck for ideas… not that I’m talking from personal experience… no, I have lots of ideas… I swear….

IMG_20161008_163655006_HDR.jpg

