How to feel at home away from home?

Hello dear people of the internet and welcome to Edinburgh, the city in the centre of which there is a volcano. Edinburgh is the perfect size, not too small, not too big. You can do everything by foot but there will always be somewhere you have not been yet. I instantly felt like home in this new city.

dsc02075
You can’t really get more Scottish than that

I arrived from France on an airplane the day before I could move into my hall, and I was lucky enough to have a friend whose parents have lived in Edinburgh their whole life and that could show me the city from a Scottish point of view. They took me on a two hours tour of the city in their car, where I got to have my first glimpse of the city I would live in for a year.

dsc02078
Wow and sometimes it’s even sunny here!

The University is much more organised than my French University, and even before I arrived in Edinburgh I knew exactly where I would be staying, what I would be studying this semester, what sports I could play, what societies I could join. All of it is on the University’s website. I knew, but really I didn’t. To really get what Edinburgh has to offer, you have to be there for Welcome Week.

welcomeweek_website_section_header_1140px_by_242px1

Welcome Week is a week during which you sleep very little, you are never home, you organise your time between a thousand events you want to go to, even though you end up only going to a few by lack of time. You cannot fit all the visits, fairs, free pizzas (FREE!), pub crawls, taster sessions of everything you could think of, from theatre improvisation to cocktail masterclasses, from Gaelic language to ceilidhs and club nights, in one day.

Welcome Week organises society fairs, where you get to discover all of the societies of the University of Edinburgh. There are so many societies, for everyone: from the bible reading challenge to every kind of Theatre Company you could imagine, from the baking society to the Singapore society. Whatever you like, there is a (well actually more than one) society for you!

Edinburgh University is such an international university that in my first two weeks here, I have met very few Scottish people but people from all around the world. My flat is a 6 people flat share and we are six different nationalities from all over the world. University is so international that the second question people ask you when they meet you, after “what is your name?” is “where are you from?”.

 

Everything is organised so that you feel welcome here and I never got home sick: exciting times ahead!

