Let the great adventure begin!

Being alone is scary. Leaving everything behind to something unknown is scary. But so worth the effort.

I saw places that I would never see otherwise, had experiences that I would never even have imagined. I jumped fully into this adventure, greeting everyone in my old house and greeting everyone upon my arrival here in Edinburgh. I have grown up, and not even two weeks have passed. And that’s why Erasmus should do it all.

It seems strange that after such a short time, but the greater message of this experience comes to you directly and immediately: you must remove off any barrier, which it is cultural, social or personal and get involved.

Of course, it was not all roses.

Go to Ikea every day, talk to salespeople looking for adapters without knowing how to say in English ‘adapters’ (…now I know); try to explain to the taxi driver to take you where you live now; see for the first time the University and believe you’re  at Hogwarts ( it’s huge – it is necessary that someone give you information to understand exactly where you have to go, problem obviously solved by the students with the recognizable yellow shirts ); being in the middle of the Fresher Week (= week dedicated to new students to get them set) and not know which events to follow (and which leave out); not to speak much English( this language of which  I’d hoped to have at least the basic, and understand that no, I have not even a little).

So, a great effort. But in the middle, how wonderful.

The “ big room stinker ” (like my mother likes to call it), has become a small room full of flowers and scented like the fig tree. I sent three washing machines and still has not happened nothing serious, I keep healthy people right and left, I saw the whole city from Calton Hill, at the time I think I will never abiuterò … with English we still have to work on it but anyway, that’s what I’m here for!

And then I went to some of the most cool events of my life!

The first was an evening organized by students at Potterow where “Hodor”, the actor of Game od Thrones (OMG!),played as a DJ and I danced for so long.

The second thing worth mentioning is definitely the ” Activities Fair “, where all university-related companies are presented, and there are a thousand types, for all kinds of interest that a human being can have, from knitting to belly dancing (so you can make new friends on a common interest basis).

Then is to remember the “Scottish Varsity Match” where they clashed rugby teams of our University and that of St. Andrews,and our girls beat the opponents with as many 97 points(girls power!)

In short, is an experience that is really worth living, despite all the doubts and difficulties that are likely to meet, and I wish anyone to find within themselves the courage to face this great travel…

.

N.B.(Italian listening):in the next article I will write about some places where you can eat well while being in Edinburgh!  Keep in touch!

 

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”

– The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

