Picturing myself in Edinburgh

A little more than a week ago, I took a plane to Edinburgh with a head full of both fears and dreams. That same day was the kick-off of Welcome Week: a week full of activities and parties to get to know the city, the university and their people. I felt both welcoming and overwhelming. I’ve been to coffee crawls, city tours and pubnights, I’ve wondered about the monopoly Domino’s seems to have on pizza in this city (they were everywhere), I’ve received more leaflets than I could carry and I’ve heard more names than my mind could process. To my surprise, the week flew by and felt like a month at the same time, allowing me to start settling in this new city.

We, the bloggers on this website, were asked what we most looked forward to doing in Edinburgh (you can read our answers – and more – here). My answer was “taking my fist ever literature course, climbing Arthur’s Seat and finding new hangouts”. I can proudly say that I’ve made a good start this last week. I’ll list my favourite places of the past week down below and I’ll try to keep doing that throughout the year.

Like I said, Welcome Week was overwhelming at times. After a week, I found myself longing for some space and time alone. Saturday was a beautiful summerlike day, so I decided to go up Carlton Hill – which basically is my backyard – to catch the last rays of sunshine beaming over the Edinburgh rooftops.

IMG_4806.JPG
I wasn’t the only one who thought Carlton Hill was the place to be for a saturday sunset.

The day after, I attended the first gathering of the Edinburgh University Hillwalking Club (EUHWC), which resulted in reaching the top of Arthur’s Seat and having a great time in a pub afterwards. Unfortunately I’m not as tall as I thought I was, so the top of my head in the picture below is the only proof that I’ve made it.

 

14322241_10153908188194013_6526231431130645916_n
Picture taken by Rebecca Meacham

By now the weekend is over and I’ve attended my first lectures. The upcoming days are filled with new plans, ideas and meetings, which makes it really easy to start picturing my life here. When it comes to blogging, I’m still thinking about a theme I can use in my stories that is a little bigger than my strictly personal experience and that suits the purpose of the blog as well as my personal style. In a week, I’m starting a creative writing course called ‘Finding your voice’ and I’m also planning on taking up photography again. The combination might push me in the right direction. In the mean time: bear with me!

img_7902
Picturing myself in Edinburgh.

 

When in Edinburgh…

Black Medicine Coffee Co.
2 Nicholson Street
This blogpost was written from the basement of this coffee shop. The coffee is good, staff is friendly and the furnishing is particularly special (go check it out!).

Edinburgh Printmakers
23 Union Street
Fine little gallery that is right up my alley (methaphorically and literally speaking). The shops sells prints in various sizes (and prices) as well as books and postcards. They also do courses!

Cameo Picturehouse
38 Home Street
A small and cosy cinema that puts the more special films on the screen. They do great student discounts!

