How to suspend time in Edinburgh

I spent my first days in Edinburgh organizing my new life and mostly running around the city to shop in every store available. One morning I realized that the city and everything I needed would still be there the next day. I could take a little time for myself, exploring a bit more than Poundland and Primark.

I was born and raised on the French Riviera and the seaside is a part of me, I naturally decided to go see the sea and that’s how I discovered Portobello.

16905279795327046f313255-00418197

There, I observed a very different way of enjoying the seaside. Nobody was laying around on the sand or swimming in the sea. On the French Riviera, going to the beach is all about getting burned by the sun and spending hours in the water. Here, the seaside seemed to simply be about walking, playing with the children and the dog. It was not surprising but still very refreshing. Actually, to see dogs running around on the sand and in the water like this beach was theirs before anyone else’s was exhilarating. On the French Riviera dogs are more often than not forbidden on the beach, and when they are not it’s actually so crowded they can’t really enjoy themselves.

portobellomain

I even took off my shoes and my tights to go and have a taste of the North Sea ! It was cold but not as freezing as I thought it would be. Then, I went to sit on the sand and I enjoyed this little break in my very busy new life. Portobello is such a nice, quiet place it was joyful to be there. It started raining, not very surprising for Scotland, but it didn’t really matter as I went for a walk on the promenade. Afterwards I slowly went back and took a bus back to the city.

A fresh sea and a fresh start for this year in Edinburgh !

Cécile

