Part 1: Up, Up, and Away

The time has finally come to seal my bags, grab my passport, and head abroad to Edinburgh, Scotland: a place I only know from the many pictures I have seen over these past few months. Soon enough, I will no longer be staring at these breathtaking photos, but capturing my own experiences through my own lens.

2308ladancephotocall005take3_0

I’m so excited to document this journey with you, and thanks for following along. I’m Alex, and I am an American student in my third-year of school. I will be living in Edinburgh for the full year and studying Finance and English Literature.

I thought it would be fitting to make my first blog post before my arrival so that we could start this journey on the same, untraveled footing. As of now, I don’t know what this next year holds, but we will navigate this new experience together.

24 hours out from my flight, I feel wide-awake and very excited. It is hard to believe that this is finally happening. I have been waiting for this day for so long, and even though it’s here, it still feels surreal. Of course I feel some nerves alongside my excitement, but who wouldn’t feel nervous to move over three thousand miles away? It is quite amazing to think that I am here in the U.S now., and in just a few hours, I will be half way around the world in Scotland. Hopefully this will finally sink in when I’ve arrived into Edinburgh Airport.

arthurs_seat_edinburgh.jpg

Despite all of my preparation, I know there is no way to fully prepare for such a life changing opportunity, but that is what studying abroad is truly all about: embracing the unknown. Finding some sense of familiarity while also embracing all of the unfamiliarity is something I hope to accomplish while in Edinburgh. While I want to make the city my new home, I also want to recognize and appreciate the many cultural differences between the U.S. and Scotland.

For now, I am eager to navigate this new chapter of my life, meet lots of people, and take in everything Scotland has to offer. It will certainly be an adventure to say the least. I better finish packing, speak to you in Edinburgh!

2 Comments

  1. Edinburgh is a nice place. You are gonna enjoy it. Don’t forget to climb arthur seat 😀
    http://www.theidealindian.com/

    1. tendlera says:

      Thank you! I did yesterday and it was amazing! 🙂

Comments are closed.