Post no. 2

It’s been a fantastic two weeks, although I’m recovering from a cold. I’m currently working on two assignments due on Monday, Feburary 22nd. One is a position paper for Children’s Rights and the other is a policy brief for Educational Politics and Policy. I signed up to be class reps for both of these (it’s essentially a TA position).

I spent last weekend working on these papers, but the weekend before that, I went on a trip hosted by accommodation services to Roslyn Chapel and Glencenkie Distillery. Our first stop was Glenkinchie Distillery for a tour and whiskey tasting from 11:45am-1:30pm.

Then, we traveled to Roslyn Chapel where we sat for a tour and grabbed an afternoon snack.

IMG_5870
Taken before the tour.
IMG_5876
Taken at sunset, 5 mins before we left.
IMG_5869
THE CHAPEL HAS A CAT.

This bit caught my eye before we left. Check out the caption:

IMG_5861
Well that escalated quickly…

Last Saturday was the start of Chinese New Year festivities in Edinburgh. My friends and I attended the lion dance in Waverly Station, which resembles a cleaner, smaller version of Grand Central. Afterwards, we went to a dim sum place about a block away. We definitely weren’t prepared for the bill, which was about 3 times more than what we would have paid in New York, but it was worth it.

Random things:

  • Visited a cat cafe. Found out I was still allergic to them.
IMG_5832
This cat is me at social events and family functions.
  • I’m taking a 6 week French crash course and I’m absolutely terrible at it. It seems as though I have a penchant for learning languages but stopping during or after the introductory level.
  • Joined Wine Society (Bless my obsession with Olivia Pope or I would have never appreciated wine as much as I do now)
IMG_5890
Being naturally awkward at my first (Romanian!) wine tasting
  • Passed by St. Andrews Square on my way home to find this fantastic light installation, KEYFRAMES.
IMG_5942
Stood in the rain for 10 minutes to get this shot. Pretty sure that’s the reason I’m sick now.
