Remember November

How is it already November?! It is halfway through semester one, and all I can say is that time has flied! A lot has changed since my first blog post, but all good things! One important distinction between the beginning of the semester and now is that I have made incredible friends that have made my experience in Edinburgh extremely enjoyable and memorable. Its amazing to have made friends from different corners of the world, who study completely different courses to me and lived different lives growing up, whom I click with in a way that almost makes me sad I hadn’t met them sooner. However, as I keep reminding myself, to make the most of the time I have with everyone here while I can.

This is the second time in my life that I have gotten to know a city better than I know my own at home. Its pretty weird, but I wouldn’t change it! Over the past few weeks, I have had friends visit and have been totally impressed with my ability to show them the city! I love knowing which street leads where, what buses to catch and which bars to visit to grab a good beer. My life is good here, with a balance between spending time with friends and spending time in the library! My expectations have totally been exceeded with the quality of teaching at the University of Edinburgh. My courses are interesting and quite challenging, urging me to stay on top of my studies and learning about different topics in detail. Sometimes it can be tough to see passed the assignments, but there is always someone there to help if things get tricky. So far I am happy with my academic studies.

My brother and I continue to remain very good friends, as I have mentioned before, a rare relationship to have between us. But of course, just another bonus to being in Edinburgh. Unfortunately with his masters course becoming more demanding and mine also, we have not had as much time to hang out as we did before. However, this just makes me appreciate our catch ups a whole lot more. I have always found my brother to be really funny, so when we get laughing about different bizarre stories we share with each other, its great! Brother/sister bonding has become so good that I even brought my brother along to a few house parties and pubs. Having some of the same friends is turning out to be pretty cool.

My best friend just recently visited the city for the first time, we actually had a little adventure getting here. The reason being because we drove all the way from Dublin to Edinburgh (with the ferry midway of course). After a very long day of driving and stopping for coffee to keep me from falling asleep (it was after halloween weekend after all!) we finally made it to my second home, here in Edinburgh. Firstly, I had to make sure that she could pronounce Edinburgh, then we were good to go and explore the city. We had a wonderful time together, and it was honestly so special and important for me to be able to show such a close friend what my life is like here. Unfortunately, there were some classes I had to attend, so during that time I gave her a detailed description of where to visit and I was extremely pleased with the outcome after her short visit. “Edinburgh is the first city to have made the best impression on me in the shortest amount of time”. Of course, I was extremely happy to have a friend who felt so passionately about this wonderful little city I have gotten to know. Next semester, I hope to visit her in Lyon where she is residing on her erasmus.

There are so many more little things that I have done here while despite seeming insignificant and average have made me happy and imprinted into my storage of good memories. Theres is no doubt that there are plenty more, so for now I will sign off with the strong belief that this year abroad will be one of the best.

Fantastic new friends to say the least.
Fantastic new friends to say the least.
A few of my friends who came to visit, on top of Calton Hill.
A few of my friends who came to visit, on top of Calton Hill.
Helped a friend out with her zombie makeup.
Helped a friend out with her zombie makeup.
I didn't actually spend Halloween in Edinburgh, I spent it back in Dublin. Nevertheless, here is my terrifying costume!
I didn’t actually spend Halloween in Edinburgh, I spent it back in Dublin. Nevertheless, here is my terrifying costume!
An old friend and a new friend.
An old friend and a new friend.
My best friend and I, unfortunately not looking very attractive with the sun in our eyes!
My best friend and I, unfortunately not looking very attractive with the sun in our eyes!
