From one little country to another

Ok so here goes a science student attempting to write a richly worded and descriptive blog post.. My name is Stella and I have come from Dublin to study in Edinburgh! Less than an hours flight from one to the other but amazingly very different from my city at home (apart from a few similarities). As this is my first time living away from home for a long period of time, and I am fortunate enough to be studying in one of the most prestigious universities in the world (I just cannot get over that!), I am committed to getting out of my comfort zone and going straight into the deep end. So stick around if you are interested in how this journey turns out!

My time here so far (almost two weeks) has been pretty cool with some ups and downs, but mostly ups! I have explored the city by foot, which was no doubt a challenge for a girl painfully used to driving back at home, but this has allowed me to get the most out of the beautiful city. I can’t keep myself from smiling while I stroll down the cobbled streets looking through shop windows and enjoying the bit of sun we have left before winter sets in. As a BIG fan of food (and not a good cook) I have really enjoyed walking by all the great restaurants, bars and cafes that Edinburgh has to offer and even giving a few a go! Haggis, neeps and tatties for example is honestly my new favourite food! I urge everyone to try it and appreciate its goodness. However most people just pull a face when I explain its deliciousness, oh well, more for me! The great thing about moving to another city, is the curiosity and eagerness you have to discover all the things it has to offer, and Edinburgh has plenty to offer! I cannot wait to have experienced and seen everything there is here after my nine months.

My accommodation is lovely and my flat mates are nice, with a variety of Scottish, Welsh and Chinese. I love the international vibes in the Uni and Edinburgh in general. I just think it is an incredible opportunity to be surrounded by so many people with different backgrounds and cultures, but at the same time all with the common ground that we are all students who like to have a good time! Within these two weeks I have been taught about Chinese history and they’re relationship with other Asian countries, learned that Wednesday means “little Saturday” in Swedish and that most of California do not experience seasons! I mean I knew it was hot over there but I never thought it had no definite seasons. I like the thought of speaking to someone new and not knowing where in the world they are from until you work out they’re accent (or fail miserably at that and have to ask where they are from).

Another thing is that my brother Killian is also studying in the University of Edinburgh. While he slaves away at his masters, I am approaching the struggles a junior honours student faces. He definitely deserves to be mentioned as he has been really good to me and helping me settle in as he knows what its like to move away from home. You wouldn’t believe it but we were not close at all before we both ended up here. In fact, we were quite the opposite, often not getting along. Thankfully it has brought us together, and I have really enjoyed hanging out with him and a few of his friends and getting to know the city together! We have climbed Arthurs seat which I found breathtakingly beautiful, with the location of it (right in the city) blowing me away. The distant sound of bagpipes being played really topped off the great experience it is climbing the extinct volcano. We have also made it down to the docks and been to the cinema. Doing many things together recently, some would call us best friends! Never thought I’d say that but the city has changed us!

Today I signed up to be a class rep for one of my courses. This is very unlike me as I have always liked university and gone to all my classes, but I have never been very involved in university, usually bailing on society meetings and not even using the free GYM membership we had in my Uni back home. But I think this opportunity will be very fulfilling and beneficial for me so I am looking forward to see how it goes.

Enjoy some photos of my time here and come back to read more soon!

This cool monument on Calton Hill
This cool monument on Calton Hill

IMG_6059

Down near the docks
Down near the docks
Feeling like I enrolled in Hogwarts after leaving the welcome ceremony..!
Feeling like I enrolled in Hogwarts after leaving the welcome ceremony..!
Killian and I!
Killian and I!
The lovely view outside kings buildings campus
The lovely view outside kings buildings campus
