Well I’ve been everywhere now…

October:

My experience in Edinburgh so far has been nothing short of incredible. I have met so many amazing people in this past month, and seen so many places too beautiful to exist. I have been to the highlands and the sea, all without traveling too far from this fantastic city.

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES  

I had no idea there were swans here.

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES 

Classes have been extremely interesting. As a History of Art major, this is certainly an excellent place to study. And so far I have mainly learned that education isn’t as much about the grade here, it is about learning for the sake of learning, and that is a very important thing to recognize and apply to life. I hope I keep that thought with me after this experience is over.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So far the most memorable experience of this past month was visiting the highlands. I went on a group tour with my study abroad programme. We traveled to castles, and distilleries, and Loch Ness, and the beautiful Glencoe that looked like something out of a fairy tale or a dream. But the highlight of my trip was visiting a working sheepdog farm. This experience included a very opinionated shepherd that seemed to have been taken out of a novel, about twenty Border Collies, thousands of sheep (though I only saw fifteen or so), two lambs, and twelve puppies.

We saw a demonstration and the dogs were just amazing! The shepherd would whistle a note and the dogs would go left, another and they would go right. Even the blind old ones were able to listen to the whistled directions, and herd the sheep. it was something I never thought that I would get a chance to see, and I am very lucky that I have. I also got to cuddle with the lambs and puppies, which made my day, as I love animals, especially baby ones.

10308051_10204050950305789_4685476073751467817_n10703618_846138122077708_7343762120082121523_n

This first month has just been a whirlwind, and I cannot wait to see what the next few months have in store for me. I hope to fit as many adventures as I possibly can into the time I have here in this wonderful place.

 

Until next time.


Holley

