Wishing you a Happy and Prosperous New Year!

New Year’s Day has always been an interesting one. When I was little, we used to go to my Aunt Mimi’s house in New Jersey and we’d run outside and bang pots and pans at midnight and shout “Happy New Year!” My mother thought that we were causing a terrible disturbance, and when we stayed home for New Years the only way she’d allow it is if we banged tupperware and wooden spoons – not nearly so fun, but looking back I can see that she was probably right. I bet the neighbors hated us and our pots! As I got older, everything got quieter. Movies, a warm blanket, and watching the ball drop on television at midnight became the new tradition.

This year is the first in many that I won’t be watching the ball drop. That no longer signals the coming of the New Year, I’ll be five hours in already and probably fast asleep. Instead I’m spending time with my grandfather and my mother, who came to visit, and I’ll be watching fireworks from near my flat at midnight (thank goodness I live near a park with a view!)

Looking back, this year has been astounding, and I’ve accomplished so much. I finished my second year of college, completed an internship with the National Park Service, moved to Edinburgh, started my third year of college, and traveled through Ireland and England. More recently, I ran my first ever 5k (3.2 miles in 34 minutes!), booked a spontaneous trip to London to see a play put on by the Royal Shakespeare Company the next day, took a short trip to Dublin with my boyfriend, and explored the tourist attractions of Edinburgh with my family. I struck a lot of things off of my bucket list, I learned a great deal both in school and out, and I’ve changed quite a bit. I’m becoming more spontaneous and, while I still worry about everything more than I should, I’m becoming more relaxed. What am I going to do when I return to Cornell University’s busy pace and hectic lifestyle?!

(A thought: It is never too early to start writing a bucket list. Seriously. Go write one. Then go DO it. Why wait?)

But for now, I’m looking towards the immediate future. I’m going to Norway next week, after airfare suddenly went on sale. I’m hoping to see the fjords and spend quite a bit of time in the city of Oslo. I’ll be back just in time for classes to start up again. I’m definitely going to Rome in February, that’ all booked, and I’m hoping to go to a few other places as well. But most of all, I’m looking forward to going home and seeing my family, my friends, and my boyfriend again.

Here’s wishing you all a very happy New Year

The beautiful Cliffs of Moher had a rainbow when I went to Ireland... that trip was one of the many things crossed off of my bucket list!
The beautiful Cliffs of Moher had a rainbow when I went to Ireland… that trip was one of the many things crossed off of my bucket list!
The fireworks from the Meadows
The fireworks from the Meadows were beautiful – and this was just the warm up!

 

