Giving Thanks

I know I’m a bit late with this, but time flies when there are essays to write and classes to attend! Fortunately, as my last essay for the semester has been handed in, there are no more classes, and it’s revision week, I find myself with time once again.

I can’t stress enough how unbelievably lucky I am to be here this year. So many things have lined up in ways I could never have dreamed, and I’m so glad that I get to continue on through next semester. A large part of this is the people, of course. Again, I’ve been fortunate beyond dreams to find people who are lovely and fantastic… and willing to put up with me, of course!

So this year, my first Thanksgiving away from family (and in a different country), I have a lot to be thankful for. Although my Thanksgiving happened on a Tuesday, instead of a Thursday (semantics when you’re surrounded by people who don’t celebrate and you still have to go to class), it was nonetheless filled with the same feelings of a “normal” Thanksgiving- lots of food, warmth and friendly faces. Many thanks to Jennifer for hosting, and for the three of them including me in their celebration.

L to R: Julie, Jennifer and Mireille
L to R: Julie, Jennifer and Mireille

There’s a long list of things I’m thankful for this year. But even though I have the time to reflect, I’ll give you the short list instead.

  • My family, biological and chosen. No matter how far away I go and how often I appear to run away from home, they support me with every step and are only a click or phone call away.
  • Friends, new and old. Whether I’ve known you 15 years or 2 months, I know I’ve learned something from every one of you, and not to be too sappy, I’m so glad to have every single one of you in my life.
  • My education. Without being challenged to explore the things I love, I wouldn’t be in this wonderful city, getting to learn, not only in the classroom, but with every step I take.
  • The people around me. Y’all are the ones who push me to be better, yet are not afraid to tell me to back off. For someone who doesn’t have that internal voice, I’m grateful for those who are unafraid to voice it for me.
Our lovely table
Our lovely table

I’m going to steal a quote and the attached sentiment from Grace (check out her blog: http://teachingwithgrace13.blogspot.co.uk). “From those to whom much is given, much is expected” (Mary Maxwell Gates)

I have been fortunate enough to have so much support, kindness, love and privilege given to me. I am blessed in so many ways, and even when I may forget that from time to time, I can only hope to do better in the future with what I have and what I have been given, and try to pass some of it on to others.

Happy (belated) Thanksgiving

