A knitter’s heaven

I finally broke down. I bought 40 UK Pounds worth of yarn on Saturday. I don’t even want to think about the conversion rate. Nope. Not going to. Suffice to say, if you usually receive a Christmas gift from me, it’s probably going to be knitted, because that is the only way I can begin to justify my purchases.

But as a result of my knitting habit and addiction that currently means I have a pair of socks on my needles (a lovely lace pattern, in a perfect blend of purples in merino wool and silk), I have gotten the chance to begin exploring the world of knitting shops here in Edinburgh. Sadly, I have no pictures, but eventually, I’ll go back to the shops to take some.

The first one, K1 Yarns (http://www.k1yarns.co.uk), specializes in local and fair trade yarns. Not only is the shop close to me (it’s just off Grassmarket), but the people have always been wonderfully helpful. Even though their stock might be small, some of my favorite yarn purchases are from there, including the yarn for the current pair of socks. For my Western Mass. people, think of it as the equivalent to Northampton Wools, albeit a bit smaller.

Second was McAree Brothers (http://www.mcadirect.com/shop/), which is a bit further out, on Howe Street past Princes Street. However, it was completely worth the extra walk, as it was beautiful. I’ve never missed floor to ceiling yarn so much in my life. Because of the larger selection, this is where the majority of my purchases came from, largely because they have the advantage of being able to offer lower prices. So far, the best comparison again for my Mass. people I can think of is the front room of Webs.

My little knitter heart is happy, and has plans for many, many projects. 🙂

 

 

