Apple adventures, Glasgow and feeling at home

Due to some unexpected Macbook issues (technology hates me. really.), I spent much of my weekend in Glasgow, which, for some unexplained reason, is where the closest Apple store is.

My first trip to Glasgow was on Friday, where my 2:15pm Apple store appointment yielded little more than getting to see the inside of the Apple store, going to Lush and walking around Buchanan Street. Fortunately, I had a friend along, which made the 4 hour trip enjoyable. Unfortunately, the solution the tech came up with was not successful at resolving my problem, which, as that realization did not occur until 10:30pm, meant that another trip was required.

Saturday, I woke up absurdly early so I could be in Glasgow shortly after the store opened at 9am. I was unable to get an appointment online, so by being there early, I was throwing myself upon the mercy of the Apple techs with the hope that I would actually get to do more than stare at the rows of apple products. Fortunately, they were able to see me about 5 minutes after walking in, and an examination of my laptop proved that my issues were real, but fixable. Bless extended warranties. Again, I was incredibly lucky and they were able to do a same day repair. As they were unsure of how long it would take (I was told 1-5 hours), I got sent off with the promise of a phone call upon completion.

As I was facing several hours of waiting and did not relish the idea of sitting in a cafe with a textbook when there were things to see, I decided to head over to the Necropolis and Cathedral. This semester, I’m taking modern Scottish history, a decision that I’m so glad I made. Not only does it let me learn more about this amazing and fascinating country, but it has moments of application. For example, while on the train to Glasgow, I was doing a reading for tutorial which examined the rise of the middle class and talked about the Necropolis as an example of class consciousness and class tensions, which just made the experience that much more memorable.

The Necropolis is gorgeous. Set on a hill, the cemetery rises above the city and provides an excellent view of Glasgow, as well as providing the opportunity to learn more about Glaswegians in the 19th century. The best thing about tombstones is how it shows what people wanted to be known for and what they considered important. The influence of the merchant class is very visible and certainly impacts the entire cemetery.

IMG_2586 IMG_2588 IMG_2594 IMG_2635 IMG_2624 IMG_2639 IMG_2643

IMG_2647 IMG_2650 IMG_2656 IMG_2658

Additionally, I also went to the Glasgow Cathedral, one of the few remaining pieces of Medieval church architecture in this part of the country. Supposedly placed on the site of St Mungo’s (the patron saint of Glasgow) church, the Cathedral is a beautiful example of how time can be both stagnant and always forward moving.

IMG_2659 IMG_2664 IMG_2669

 

In case anyone had forgotten, this bagpipe player was there to remind us that we were in Scotland.

By the time I had finished in the cathedral, I had already spent 2 hours wandering, and a check of my mobile revealed my laptop was ready for pickup. Due to a growing amount of work, I decided it was best to go back to Edinburgh. All in all, it was a lovely trip and I’d love to go back- as long as it’s not due to a technology related issue!

Finally, this week I came to an important realization. I’ve been here a month, and I’ve never felt as at home in a place as I have here. As much as I love Mount Holyoke, I don’t actively miss it. I’m not in love with it, not like I am with Edinburgh. Yes, I’ve had growing pains and they will no doubt continue (i.e. my debit card saga), but even with the growing disenchantment that comes with living in a place (Cowgate on the weekends will do that), I wouldn’t change living here for the world. At this moment in time, I would love to live here full time and can’t imagine having to leave in just 8 short, short months. Master’s degree, perhaps? If I have my way, definitely.

 

