I’m Going on an Adventure

Welcome, welcome, welcome to my year abroad blog! I have never been to Edinburgh. Yet, already I feel at home.  As an English and History student, the cobblestone streets and historic setting of the city seem like an absolute dream. My Knopf Mapguide of Edinburgh is marked with many destinations; the top of the list includes Edinburgh Castle, St. Giles Cathedral and Arthur’s Seat. Also on the list: The Elephant House (as loyal Harry Potter fan, I must visit the birthplace of the series) and the Old Town Bookshop on Victoria Street (I absolutely LOVE the smell of old books- I am an English major after all).

As a student of the University of Edinburgh, I cannot wait to stroll through the same halls as alumnus Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (as “Sherlock” starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman returns to BBC in the fall) while flipping through A Study in Scarlet.

It really is difficult to believe all of these incredible opportunities lie in one city. And I’ve barely scraped the surface!

Never mind the rest of the country that is so readily available thanks to Waverley Station! My best friend will be studying at St. Andrews at the same time as me. I cannot wait to pop over, as St. Andrews is only a mere hour and a bit away from Edinburgh, and reenact the opening sequence of Chariots of Fire. And then fall in love with the heir to the throne of England- this is a must. Then maybe pop over to Glasgow. I plan to start with a meal at Crabshakk (my friend’s recommendation), then take a gander through the records at Monorail Music, followed by a bump in with my favourite band Belle and Sebastian.

I’ve also noticed the wide variety of societies at the University of Edinburgh. Wow! I will avoid the Chocolate Society with great restraint and instead join the Hill Walking Club. This way I stay fit on exchange while also seeing the beautiful views the Scottish landscapes have to offer.

Adventure lies ahead and I cannot wait any longer! I cannot wait to share with you all of the adventures that are to come. And if you have any suggestions, please DO share below! Until then, I am off to unpack and explore the city!

Isabel xx

2 Comments

  1. JP Kaczur says:

    Do not avoid the Chocolate Society. It’s not like they are the Stonecutters, or something.

  2. Peter Moore says:

    You couldn’t ask for a better book shop!

Comments are closed.