The First Month

There’s one thing that no one tells you about before you study abroad: how lonely it can be.  I’m sure it’s not the same for everyone; I have friends who are abroad and have already decided that they are never returning home.  But when I started at my home university, I met my best friend the second day of orientation.  That’s a pretty tough act to follow.  One of the reasons things have been a bit more difficult for me is undoubtedly because I am living in private housing.  Most of the other study abroad students are all living together.  I’ve traded flatmates and potential best friends for peace and quiet.  Although, it is important to note that living placements are really luck of the draw: I know one study abroad student who is living with 17 year old “freshers” who are pretty much only interested in getting drunk.  Not that that’s necessarily a bad thing.

I’ve been in Edinburgh for a little over a month now (you’ll have to forgive a girl for not blogging sooner – I’ve been busy!)  I’ve survived the blur and excitement and yes, loneliness of fresher’s week.  I’ve met tons of people from all walks of life.  The societies at Edinburgh are one of the best things about the university. Whatever you’re interested in, chances are there’s a society you can join for it: whiskey lovers, cocktail appreciation, yoga, meditation, debating – the list is really endless.  I’m partial to the Edinburgh University Investment and Trading Club – you get to invest actual money!  As someone with an almost ridiculous appreciation for food, I’ve also joined the Gastronomic society (you’ll be hearing a lot about food in this blog, so get used to it).  Tomorrow night, different groups of us are meeting up to cook a 3-course meal from a chosen country.  When all the food is ready, we get together with the other groups and have a feast.

What could be better?

